Gente de calidad

Feature Documentary, 80

Production : Dublin Films

Author-Director : Aldemar Matias

Synopsis : 
Antoinette, Jahir and Camilo are recent residents of Barcelona in their twenties. They have left their home Countries in Latin America for different reasons and now they share a common objective: to apply for the Spanish citizenship.

One of the requirements of the application is to answer correctly a test with dozens of questions about Spanish culture such as: Who’s Penelope Cruz? What’s the traditional christmas dessert? What are the colours of the national flag? The process is intriguing.

As they move along the bureaucratic stages, they begin to perceive the mechanisms to evaluate their behaviour and shape them into “good immigrants”. More than that, they experience how this system goes beyond the papers of the nationality exams. It’s also present in unnoticed details of their daily lives.

Gente de Calidad

Long-métrage documentaire, 80′

Production délégué : Dublin Films

Auteur-Réalisateur : Aldemar Matias

Synopsis : 
Antoinette, Jahir et Camilo ont une vingtaine d’années. Ils résident depuis peu à Barcelone et ont tous trois quitté leur pays d’origine en Amérique latine pour différentes raisons. Ils ont aujourd’hui un objectif commun : obtenir la nationalité espagnole.

L’une des premières étapes de la procédure est de répondre correctement à un questionnaire sur la culture espagnole. Qui est Penelope Cruz ? Quel est le dessert traditionnellement servi à Noël ? Quelles sont les couleurs du drapeau national ? La procédure est souvent intrigante.

Alors qu’ils progressent dans les étapes administratives, ils commencent à percevoir les mécanismes qui sont mis en place pour évaluer leurs conduites, afin qu’ils deviennent de « bons immigrés ». Au delà de ce processus, ils découvrent comment ce formatage est présent dans d’imperceptibles détails de leur vie quotidienne.